Map shows which areas of Leicester and Leicestershire will remain in lockdown

A map has been revealed outlining which areas in Leicester and Leicestershire are included in the lockdown extension announced yesterday.

The announcement made by Health Secretary Matt Hancock mentioned Oadby, Glenfield and Birstall would be included in the lockdown, but details of other areas affected were lacking until now.

The areas affected in addition to the city of Leicester include:

  • Birstall
  • Braunstone Town
  • Glenfield
  • Glen Parva
  • Leicester Forest East
  • Oadby
  • Thorpe Astley
  • Thurmaston
  • Wigston

This means bars, restaurants and hairdressers in these areas will not open on July 4 as planned, and non-essential shops that were allowed to open on 15 June will have to close again from today (30 June).


New measures are also being introduced in these areas, including:

  • Extra testing capacity being made available, including a walk-in test centre
  • Extra funding available to Leicester and Leicestershire council to help support businesses and those forced to self-isolate
  • Schools will close and non-essential shops will shut
  • People living in the city are being urged to “stay at home as much as they can”

To keep up with all the latest news, please like our Facebook Page or join our Leicestershire Breaking News group.